Politics & Foreign Relations

   Economic News

   Business News

   Other News of Interest

   All stories

19th June, 2020

Border open to EU countries and more

Citizens of all EU member states, as well as Serbia, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Iceland, can freely enter Hungary as of Thursday, Foreign Minister Péter Szijjártó announced yesterday morning.

Also, Hungarian citizens are exempted from quarantine after returning from any of the above states.

According to a decree published in the official gazette, those entering Hungary from Ukraine may enter for a maximum of 24 hours within a distance of 30 kilometres from the border.

Sources regularly consulted, with abbreviations used in text: Népszabadság (N); Magyar Hírlap (MH); Világgazdaság (VG); Napi Gazdaság (NG); Magyar Nemzet (MN); Népszava (Nsz); Kossuth Rádió news (KR); nightly TV news (TV).

Contact Free Trial Subscription